San Francisco's world-famous comic book mecca, Isotope the Comic Book Lounge is the epicenter for comics coolness. The home of unique events with the industry's biggest names and some of the smallest, too. Including: Grant Morrison, Jim Lee, Eric Powell, JH Williams, Ian Gibson, MC Chris, Dave Johnson, Steve Niles, Warren Ellis, Ed Brubaker, Robert Kirkman, Darick Robertson, Erik Larsen, Brian K. Vaughan, Tony Harris, Joe Casey, Tom Beland, Rick Remender, Brian Wood, B. Clay Moore, Brett Warnock, Adam Beechen, Andrew Boyd, Ms Monster, Eric Stephenson, Pine-am, Bill Willingham, Jason McNamara, Batton Lash, Jackie Estrada, Rob Osborne, Tony Talbert, Kirsten Baldock, JW Cotter, Danica Novgorodoff
Isotope the comic book lounge features the love for the comics with world class comic book pimps, the Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics, and popular industry mixers
The Staff at Isotope the comic book lounge. Sexy comic nerds and so much more!
Events at Isotope the comic book lounge. Included are unique events like Grant Morrison's International Guide to Living Fabulously, Eric Powell's Monster Mash-Up, Jim Lee & Lee Bermejo All-Star Opening, MC Chris performing live, Ed Brubaker Armwrestling, JH Williams Baccanalia, Brian K. Vaughan & Tony Harris Voter Registration Drive, Pine-am performing live, Steve Niles Zombiefest, Continuity Art Show, Warren Ellis Scotch Tasting, Watermelon Races with Andrew Boyd, Tom Beland Eisner Nomination Bash, Brian Wood Month, APE AFTERMATH
Pictures glorious pictures! Photos and videos of the world's most beautiful comic book store and the sexy cool people who shop here. Jim Lee. Grant Morrison. Eric Powell. PINE*am. MC Chris. Danica Novgorodoff. Alternative Press Expo. Toilet Seats.

Enter your email address to sign up
for the Isotope events mailing list

Powered by NotifyList.comNotifyList.com

Powered by Blogger

 

 

DASH SHAW at the Isotope!

Join us and comic creating genius Dash Shaw in celebration of his latest book BODYWORLD from Pantheon

April 27th 2010 (click here for more info)

 

   
 
Need Driving Directions to the Isotope? Click here!

The Isotope Communique
Daily news and updates by Proprietor James Sime & the Isotope Staff
Subscribe to the site feed.

James Sime's Mobile Twitter Feed - click here for more

Friday, July 31, 2009


Darwyn Cooke's incredible PARKER: THE HUNTER hits the front page and pretty much the entire Arts section of today's New York Times.

Read the article online with fewer pretty pictures here (also included in article are fabulous graphic novels by David Mazzucchelli and Neil Gaiman + Andy Kubert) and read a sneak peek of PARKER: THE HUNTER here... and go ahead, you can buy yourself a copy here: isotopecomics.com!

Labels: , , , , , ,

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Oh, who isn't thrilled about this awesome book already? After getting a peek at the original art, I am 1000% more excited than I was before!

Labels: , , ,

Thursday, December 27, 2007

The World Needs A Hero... But Not Like This!
From Rob Schrab & Image Comics


We're continuing the Isotope's New Comics Peepshow in style with Scud: The Disposable Assassin!

Author & artist Rob Schrab left fans in a tizzy when he abruptly stopped publishing the exploits of his beloved freelance mercenary. Ending with a cliffhanger, fans were left to ponder Scud's ultimate fate. Well, PONDER NO MORE! After a decade of anticipation, Rob Schrab and Image Comics finally release SCUD: THE DISPOSABLE ASSASSIN #21, the beginning of the four-issue finale for his ever-popular death dealing robot.

While February will mark ten years to the month since Schrab produced SCUD: THE DISPOSABLE ASSASSIN #20, he has remained busy in Hollywood, directing such hits as MONSTER HOUSE and THE SARAH SILVERMAN PROGRAM.

All of us here at the Isotope were thrilled to hear about Scud's impending return. And to whet your appetite, here are two cover previews and a glimpse into the next chapter in the life of our favorite DISPOSABLE ASSASSIN.

(click pages to enlarge)




Scud: The Disposable Assassin
by Rob Schrab
Four-issue black & white miniseries. Cover price: $3.50
From Image Comics in February

Labels: , ,

Monday, December 24, 2007

A Post-Apocalyptic...Relationship Drama?!
From Jim Munroe, Salgood Sam & IDW


Continuing the Isotope's New Comics Peepshow with Therefore Repent!

When I first heard about the book, an original graphic novel about a post-rapture world in which magic works, thoughts of the terrific Strange Girl by Rick Remender (who actually worked with Therefore Repent's artist Salgood Sam on Sea of Red) popped into my head. But after reading the preview for the book I have to say that despite the similar Hollywwod style pitch, no two books could be more uniquely different.

Therefore Repent! approaches the Rapture in a very interesting human manner, despite the fact that our tour guides are a bird-headed girl, her mummy-wrapped boyfriend, and a talking dog. Yes, I know... I tend to not like the talking animal books either. Like I said, this book really surprised me!

Juxtaposing between oddly normal moments, in this case taking over a raptured couples' apartment and clearing out their garbage... with the violent retribution of the angel militia that still police those left behind, author Jim Monroe serves up a thinking man's look at the post-rapture apocalypse. And it's hard not to sit up and notice a book that so artfully explores the fundamental truth that even in end-of-the-world conditions our relationships, both good and those falling to dust, still take precedence over all else.

Really not like anything else out there, and definitely worth checking out!

(click pages to enlarge)




Therefore Repent!
by Jim Munroe & Salgood Sam
160 Pages for $14.99
From IDW in January

Labels: , , , ,

Sunday, December 23, 2007

The World Needs A Hero... But Not Like This!
From Hickman, Bodenheim & Image Comics


Continuing the Isotope's New Comics Peepshow is style with A Red Mass For Mars!

Author/artist/designer Jonathan Hickman stunned us all right out of the gate with an amazing debut, Nightly News. And frankly we can't wait for him to blow the brains out of the back of our heads with a duo of forthcoming miniseries to kick off 2008 right, Pax Romana (check out a jaw-dropping pdf preview of it here) and January's beautiful looking Red Mass for Mars. Our holiday sneak peek stocking stuffer only allows for one glimpse into the future per entry, so let's pretend I didn't just link to that Pax Romana preview, and talk about that other book, shall we...?

Red Mass for Mars the post-apolcalyptic story about a superhero, Mars, who has the power to save the world, but isn't sure it's worth saving. Hickman has teamed with a really fantastic new talent Ryan Bodenheim to explore the last days of Earth and the one man who could save us all - but won't. I think you'll all really like taking a glimpse at this unique and subversive skewering of the heroic myth as much as I do!

(click pages to enlarge)



Can't wait to get to see more of this book...

Red Mass For Mars
by Jonathan Hickman & Ryan Bodenheim
32 Full Color Pages for $3.50
From Image Comics in January

Labels: , , , ,

Friday, December 21, 2007

Crime Noir Takes A Monstrous Turn
From Bausch, Callahan & Oddgod Press


The Isotope apologizes for any loss of picture you may have experienced over the past couple days while our IT Department dealt with FTP difficulties. We now return to our regularly scheduled programming... the Isotope's virtual holiday stocking stuffer and New Comics Peepshow!

Fans of the Isotope's one-of-a-kind Comic Rockstars Toilet Seat Museum will no doubt recognize artist James Callahan's name, as his Zombie Batman lid is a perennial favorite. One look at his linework and there is no question he's got the raw talent to be the next Geoff Darrow or Frank Quitely. Callahan has been applying his signature gruesome art to the crime noir comic Strange Detective Tales with one hell of a writer in co-creator Jessie Bausch. And with the next issue imminent I couldn't resist including a sneak peek to whet your appetites.

And really, what's not to love about Strange Detective Tales? Bausch and Callahan enthrall with not only the strange, but indeed, the detective as well. Starring a vampiric private dick, Renfield, who takes readers on a personalized tour through a countryside littered with gigantic rabid insects and the gritty monster-ridden underworld of after-hours Los Angeles. Like any good bit of hard-boiled noir fiction, investigating the disappearance of the main character's ex-lover gets Renfield in way over his head. The cops, a cyclops pimp turned porn director, the alien mafia, and even Howard Hughes end up gunning for him. And did I mention that his partner is a dead ringer (no pun intended) for Peter Lorry?

People, you are going to like this book!

(click pages to enlarge)




Strange Detective Tales
by Jesse Bausch & James Callahan
36 Pages for $3.95
From Oddgod Press this February

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, December 18, 2007

The Final Days of the Mythic Superhero
From Remender, Broome & Dark Horse


We're kicking off the Isotope's week-long holiday stocking stuffer New Comics Peepshow with a bang!

Here at the Isotope we really like the books Rick Remender puts out, which all combine a real joy for the comic artform with a steel-toed combat boot to the back of the head to that which is anything less than exciting. And when Remender decides to put his spin on an over-worked genre it's of the take-a-sit-and-spin variety, as evidenced recently with books like the zombie-porno-movie opus XXXombies and his hyper-kinetic Fear Agent, the book that single-handily made bubble-helmet and raygun sci fi fun and badass again.

The End League tells the tale of Earth's last remaining ragtag group of superman and women on a desperate quest for the hammer of Thor in a world decimated by evil. And when I heard that Rick was teaming with WildC.A.T.S. artist Mat Broome to for this creator owned superhero epic I knew we just had to get you all a sneak peek!

(click pages to enlarge)



I dunno about you, but I'm feeling this series is going to absolutely rock. Can't wait to read more!

The End League
by Rick Remender & Mat Broome
32 Full Color Pages for $2.99
From Dark Horse Comics in January

Labels: , , ,

Monday, December 17, 2007

The Isotope Celebrates The Holidays & 2008
With A Week-Long New Comics Peepshow


As we get together with family and friends to ring out the year in style, huddled up next to a toasty fireplace with big wonderful mugs of egg nog in hand... we raise a toast to all the great comics the last year brought us that made our bookshelves and comic boxes so very, very happy. What a really great year for comics.

But as always, my staff and I are eagerly looking forward to the next year's crop of comics and graphic novels and hoping that 2008 is as wonderful a year for comics as 2007 was. And it with this in mind that I've gotten together with some folks who I think are going to thrill us all in '08, and stuffing your virtual stockings full of sweet previews and sneak peeks of some of the most exciting books coming out in the beginning of next year!


Over the course of the week we're going to be featuring on this very website exclusive and tasty previews of some really, really great books I think you'll all want to check out.

Starting up first is Rick Remender and Mat Broome's crazy-cool new superhero series The End League from Dark Horse Comics, then we're serving up Image Comics' stunning A Red Mass For Mars by Ryan Bodenheim and comics genius Jonathan Hickman, and the next issue of Strange Detective Tales by Jessie Bausch and James Callahan (who did our famous Zombie Batman toilet seat cover) published by Oddgod Press, a cool new end-of-the-world original graphic novel Therefore Repent! from IDW by Jim Munroe and Salgood Sam you're going to love, and we're going right up to Christmas Eve to bring you an exclusive preview of one of the single most anticipated books of the last decade... (drum roll please)

The final issue of Rob Schrab's long-awaited Scud The Disposable Assassin!

Ahhh... that heats up the cold December days better than hot buttered rum, doesn't it? Stay tuned to the Isotope Communique and get your virtual stocking well stuffed.

Update: Here's direct links to our previews so far!

The End League from Dark Horse Comics
Strange Detective Tales from Oddgod Press
A Red Mass For Mars from Image Comics

Labels: ,

Tuesday, September 25, 2007

That's Right, We're Playing Favorites...
And Celebrating 10 Years of Greatness!


Everybody knows that I have more than just a business relationship with a whole bunch of different comic publishers in this industry, I'm amigos with several of them. So maybe it's wrong of me to pick favorites. After all, we're all friends here, right?

Well, screw it... Top Shelf Productions, the folks who bring us The Ticking, Unlikely, Box Office Poison, Lost Girls, Surrogates, Death By Chocolate, 110 Percent, Owly, From Hell, Big Clay Pot, the wonderful Blankets, and the I'm-telling-you-this-is-the-book-of-the-year Super Spy, are my favorite funnybook publisher of all.

"Why is that" you might ask?

Not only have these folks served up great new talents to the industry and beautifully put together amazing reads year after year (as well as some great margaritas for folks here at the Isotope) but I am continually impressed with all the things they do to make sure retailers like myself are feeling the Top Shelf love. For example, check out what showed up with the UPS driver this afternoon...



In celebration of their ten year anniversary, they've sent out to retailers like myself a bunch of 264 page graphic novel samplers, completely free of charge, for me to give away to you fine folks. And then we can all revel in the glories of their up-coming books as well as take a taste of classics from yesteryear! And look, they've even labeled one as the "store copy" to make sure overly generous comic selling folks like my staff and I all get to read it. Now that's just pure, 100% good marketing. And hooking the industry up with a great present like this is pretty damn classy too!

Drop me an email if you're an independent comics fan and would like a copy, or you can get one from them directly. And while you're at it, why not drop a note to the people who made this all possible. Some "happy birthday" wishes, perhaps?

I love you Top Shelf!

www.topshelfcomix.com

Labels: , ,