San Francisco's world-famous comic book mecca, Isotope the Comic Book Lounge is the epicenter for comics coolness. The home of unique events with the industry's biggest names and some of the smallest, too. Including: Grant Morrison, Jim Lee, Eric Powell, JH Williams, Ian Gibson, MC Chris, Dave Johnson, Steve Niles, Warren Ellis, Ed Brubaker, Robert Kirkman, Darick Robertson, Erik Larsen, Brian K. Vaughan, Tony Harris, Joe Casey, Tom Beland, Rick Remender, Brian Wood, B. Clay Moore, Brett Warnock, Adam Beechen, Andrew Boyd, Ms Monster, Eric Stephenson, Pine-am, Bill Willingham, Jason McNamara, Batton Lash, Jackie Estrada, Rob Osborne, Tony Talbert, Kirsten Baldock, JW Cotter, Danica Novgorodoff
Isotope the comic book lounge features the love for the comics with world class comic book pimps, the Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics, and popular industry mixers
The Staff at Isotope the comic book lounge. Sexy comic nerds and so much more!
Events at Isotope the comic book lounge. Included are unique events like Grant Morrison's International Guide to Living Fabulously, Eric Powell's Monster Mash-Up, Jim Lee & Lee Bermejo All-Star Opening, MC Chris performing live, Ed Brubaker Armwrestling, JH Williams Baccanalia, Brian K. Vaughan & Tony Harris Voter Registration Drive, Pine-am performing live, Steve Niles Zombiefest, Continuity Art Show, Warren Ellis Scotch Tasting, Watermelon Races with Andrew Boyd, Tom Beland Eisner Nomination Bash, Brian Wood Month, APE AFTERMATH
Pictures glorious pictures! Photos and videos of the world's most beautiful comic book store and the sexy cool people who shop here. Jim Lee. Grant Morrison. Eric Powell. PINE*am. MC Chris. Danica Novgorodoff. Alternative Press Expo. Toilet Seats.

Enter your email address to sign up
for the Isotope events mailing list

Powered by NotifyList.comNotifyList.com

Powered by Blogger

 

 

DASH SHAW at the Isotope!

Join us and comic creating genius Dash Shaw in celebration of his latest book BODYWORLD from Pantheon

April 27th 2010 (click here for more info)

 

   
 
Need Driving Directions to the Isotope? Click here!

The Isotope Communique
Daily news and updates by Proprietor James Sime & the Isotope Staff
Subscribe to the site feed.

James Sime's Mobile Twitter Feed - click here for more

Monday, April 30, 2007

BOOM Studios' & Isotope's Trailer Contest
Funnybooks (and Fame?) in Your Future


(San Francisco) Your amigos at Isotope - the comic book lounge announced today a sexy create-a-trailer contest for BOOM! Studios' new release LEFT ON MISSION. Isotope is inviting comic fans everywhere to produce a adenaline pumping widescreen trailer utilizing art from the comic and a musical theme by Mike Griffen, guitarist of the legendary Tsunami Bomb.

Entries will be judged by a panel which includes Keefe Boerner, visual effects producer on Sin City, and Brad Blondheim, producer of the turntablist documentary Scratch.

The Grand Prize Winner will receive a limited edition, signed and numbered hardcover copy of LEFT ON MISSION #1 along with signed copies of LEFT ON MISSION issues 1-5 when they are available. The Grand Prize Winner's trailer will be showcased on the Isotope and LEFT ON MISSION websites and also their trailer will be used as part of the LEFT ON MISSION advertising campaign.

"Trailers are an entertainment classic. They hit all your sensory hotspots while pushing you at pulse-quickening speeds into a frenzy of curiosity and excitement. And who hasn't wanted to try their hand at putting one of these bite-sized packs of entertainment dynamite together? Well, now you've got the chance to make a trailer for LEFT ON MISSION," said James Sime, proprietor of Isotope - the comic book lounge, "And let me tell you, this book will be a dream to work with - great art and a high-octane story - if you can't make a great trailer for this book, you aren't even trying!"

"I am really stoked about this contest. We have a great musical theme by Mike Griffen, the former guitarist of Tsunami Bomb. We have great judges, with a diverse background - Keefe Boerner, the visual effects producer on Sin City and Brad Blondheim, the producer of Scratch. And to top it off, we have a one of the kind prize to give away with the limited hardcover of issue #1," Chip Mosher, LEFT ON MISSION's author enthused to cool comic media outlets the world over. "I can't wait to see what people come up with!"

Entrants will be given the ability to download a wide selection of artwork from LEFT ON MISSION, with art by Francesco Francavilla and colors by Martin Thomas, a script for the trailer by writer/creator Chip Mosher, and the musical theme by Mike Griffen. The entrants will need to create a 45 to 90-second trailer using at least fifty percent or more of the artwork, script and music provided. The Trailer may also include sound effects created by the entrant, voice-over narration, and actors.

"You've got the music, you've got the art, and the sky's the limit! Knock our socks off, people!" said James Sime.

Break out your editing software, grab ahold of all the supplies you need, check out the official contest rules, and start rockin' in the You Ess Aye, people!

LEFT ON MISSION # 1 will be hitting store shelves on May 16th, 2007. Created and written by Chip Mosher, LEFT ON MISSION features stunning pencil and inkwork from rising star Francesco Francavilla of Sea of Red & The Black Coat fame, with colors by Martin Thomas and covers by Steph Stamb.

A spy thriller in the vein of The Bourne Identity, LEFT ON MISSION spotlights former agent Eric Westfall who has been called out of his perfect suburban retirement to recover an agent gone rogue. LEFT ON MISSION is a monthly limited series for fans of gritty, dark espionage thrillers like Casino Royale!

Check out the LEFT ON MISSION website here

Labels: , , ,